Commissioner Awards

Each year the Iowa Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau recognizes individuals, teams, and organizations who have demonstrated excellence in their efforts and commitment to improve traffic safety in Iowa. GTSB will be honoring outstanding work in the following categories:

This award honors an individual/team/organization who planned, organized, and/or participated in speed initiatives with impactful results in the state of Iowa.

Occupant Protection
Given to an individual/team/organization who has continuously promoted occupant protection with innovative programming, planned/implemented/participated in effective initiatives directed at child restraint or seat belt usage.

Impaired Driving
Awarded to an individual/team/organization who has planned, organized, and/or participated in an impaired driving initiative resulting in reduction of alcohol and drug impaired drivers on Iowa roadways.

Community Engagement
This award is presented to an individual/team/organization who demonstrates creative and innovative use of social media, planning/organizing community events and other community engagement initiatives educating the public on traffic safety topics.

Education, Programming, and Research
Given to an individual/team/organization providing exceptional education to a specific group; youth, vulnerable road users, or elderly drivers.

Programs involving traffic safety issues like distracted driving or other inventive initiatives. Research supporting effective data improvements for traffic safety records.


Farrell/Puente-Morales Award
Presented to a law enforcement agency, with a GTSB contract, displaying a strong emphasis addressing impaired driving in the past year. This award honors Officers Susan Farrell and Carlos Puente-Morales who were killed by an impaired driver in 2016. GTSB staff will consider ‘Impaired Driving’ nominations AND initiatives we’re aware of through agency partnerships. This award is selected by GTSB Staff.

The awards will be presented at the 2024 GTSB Traffic Safety Conference at the FFA Conference Center in Ankeny, IA. Winners in each category will be notified by May 6 and invited to the Awards Luncheon on June 6, 2024.

For consideration of an award, the individual, team, or organization must demonstrate leadership, outstanding achievement, and exemplary service to traffic safety efforts. The awards are intended to recognize efforts that reduce traffic deaths and injuries, reward innovation, and/or effectiveness of a traffic safety program or campaign.

Up to two awards will be given in each category. Nominations will be scored by internal and external stakeholders, except for the Farrell/Puente-Morales Award. This award decision will be made by GTSB staff. All award decisions are final.


  • Any individual, team, or organization may be nominated. Employees of GTSB are not eligible for an award.
  • Nominations should focus on efforts during the past federal fiscal year; October 1 –September 30, 2023.
  • Nomination deadline is April 22, 2024.
  • Awardees may receive only one award in a 5-year period.

To complete a nomination, complete the form by clicking on this link: Commissioner’s Award for Traffic Safety