Hall of Fame and Distinguished Service Inductees to be Honored at Banquet

This evening, Aug. 16, we will gather as a family in the Grand Ballroom at the Iowa Events Center in celebration of our 2023 Hall of Fame and Distinguished Service inductees.

This grand event, known as our annual banquet, is the pinnacle, the peak and the summit for our association where we recognize members both active and retired for their outstanding achievements and service not only to agriculture but to their community, our country, and our world. Two different awards will be presented to over 60 individuals during our time together. These awards are the Hall of Fame and Distinguished Service Award.

Josh Michel receiving his award.

(Josh Michel (left) and Ron Lenth)

Our Hall of Fame Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated commitment, dedication and leadership as an outstanding educator for their association involvement at both the state and national level, along with outstanding humanitarian service.

Hall of Fame winners are: North Central Region: Larry Howard from Nebraska; North East Region: Lee Stivers from Pennsylvania; Southern Region: Paul Wigley from Georgia; and Western Region: Janet Schmidt from Washington.

Fifty-five members will be honored as Distinguished Service Award (DSA) recipients. The DSA recognizes members for excellence in their field of work as a professional. These individuals have more than ten years of service, have conducted outstanding programs and are held in high esteem by their fellow workers.

Both the Hall of Fame and DSA recipients have been responsible for empowering farmers and ranchers, and helping their communities to meet the challenges they face, such as adapting to the changing in technology, emerging animal and plant pests, preparing for and responding to emergencies, and protecting our environment.

Congratulations to our winners. Be proud of your accomplishments, for you truly have made a difference in many people’s lives.