2023 Iowa Water Conference Stormwater Award Nomination Form

This award is sponsored by the Iowa Storm Water Education Partnership and recognizes outstanding performance related to urban watershed protection and improvement of water quality in Iowa. Nominate someone by August 1 and help recognize the winner during the 2023 Iowa Water Conference.

Download the nomination form here.

Spencer Award
Spencer Awardees will be recognized at the 2023 Iowa Water Conference. This annual award is administered by the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture and recognizes researchers, teachers and farmers who have contributed significantly to the environmental and economic stability of the Iowa farming community.

IAWA Iowa Watershed Awards
The IAWA Iowa Watershed Awards began in 2017 as a way to recognize the hard work of conservation leaders. Their dedication to their communities to improve water quality, build soil health, and reduce flood risk has a ripple effect downstream – and statewide. Watershed coordinators and project staff who provide partnership-based management and stewardship in a watershed are key leaders in reaching the goals of the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy.

The Iowa Ag Water Alliance brought together Iowa State University, The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, and Conservation Districts of Iowa to launch this award, understanding the importance of well-deserved recognition.

The worth of clean water is priceless, but the cost of getting there can be expensive. That’s why IAWA and partners honor the winner of the Watershed Coordinator of the Year Award with $5,000 for their local watershed program, and $1,000 for their own professional development. Past winners have put this money to work in their communities, impacting both rural and urban families who depend on clean water every day. The IAWA also celebrates individuals in the public and private sector who are making a difference for Iowa’s water quality through the Impact Award. Two individuals will be honored with the award: one in the public sector and one in the private sector.

Since its inaugural year, IAWA and partners have given more than 20 awards, providing thousands of dollars in funding and momentum for outstanding leaders to make positive and lasting change.

Link to IAWA award application: