Home

About IPN:

The Iowa Department of Health and Human Services is excited to offer a variety of substance misuse and problem gambling training opportunities to Iowa’s prevention workforce. These offerings will be made available beginning in November 2022.

With a focus on protecting and improving the health of Iowans, registrants will have the opportunity to participate in evidence-based program training, learn effective population-level health approaches, increase their knowledge of the impacts of problem gambling, understand how to effectively implement the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s Strategic Prevention Framework, and much more.

To learn more or to register,  click on the ribbon near the top of the page. Please check back often if details are not yet available for a specific offering.

These opportunities are made available with funding from the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Problem Gambling and grant funds through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Regional Prevention

IPN REGIONAL PREVENTION TRAINING

(in-person) – November 10, 16, & 18, 2022

Individual Strategy Training

LIFESKILLS TRAINING FOR ELEMENTARY, MIDDLE, AND HIGH SCHOOL CURRICULUMS

December 13-19, 2022

PROJECT TOWARDS NO DRUG ABUSE

January 5, 2023 and January 6, 2023

The Wellness Initiative for Senior Education or WISE Program

February 8 and 9, 2023

PROBLEM GAMBLING

THE BLURRED LINES OF COMMODITIES, STOCK TRADING, AND GAMBLING

(virtual) - November 28, 2022

PROBLEM GAMBLING – STACKED DECK

ENVIRONMENTAL STRATEGY TRAINING

Coalition Rebuilding & Revitalizing After COVID

Monday, January 9, 2023

IMPLEMENTING COMPREHENSIVE PLANS USING THE SEVEN STRATEGIES FOR COMMUNITY CHANGE

Monday, February 13, 2023

Community Readiness and Strategy Implementation

Tuesday, February 28, 2023

DRUG FREE WORKPLACE

Tuesday, January 24, 2023

PROFESSIONALISM IN PREVENTION

Thursday, January 12, 2023

ALCOHOL POLICY: ESSENTIALS FOR PREVENTION PRACTITIONERS (VIRTUAL)

Tuesday, November 29, 2022

ALCOHOL POLICY: IMPLEMENTATION ESSENTIALS (VIRTUAL)

Thursday, December 1, 2022

OLDER ADULTS: SUBSTANCE USE TRENDS AND PREVENTION STRATEGIES (VIRTUAL)

Tuesday, December 6, 2022

PREVENTION WITH SELECTIVE AND INDICATED POPULATIONS IN THE YEARS AHEAD (VIRTUAL)

Thursday, December 8, 2022

THE ROLE OF POLICY IN PREVENTION: COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITIES (VIRTUAL)

Thursday, December 15, 2022

THE ROLE OF POLICY IN PREVENTION: SCHOOLS (VIRTUAL)

Friday, February 17, 2023

Fentanyl: A Crisis in America

Thursday, February 23, 2023

SPF Training

SAMHSA'S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE ASSESSMENT STEP

Tuesday, January 31, 2023

SAMHSA’S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE CAPACITY BUILDING STEP

Thursday, February 2, 2023

SAMHSA'S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE PLANNING STEP

Tuesday, February 7, 2023

SAMHSA'S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE SUSTAINABILITY STEP

Thursday, February 23, 2023

SAMHSA'S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE EVALUATION STEP

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

SAMHSA'S STRATEGIC PREVENTION FRAMEWORK: APPLYING AND UNDERSTANDING THE CULTURAL COMPETENCY STEP

Thursday, February 16, 2023